Home games · American Mahjong app (iPhone, iPad, Mac) with same-room Wi-Fi play and Game Center online tables; NMJL cards; VoiceOver support

Callie's Mahjong

Also called Callie’s Mahjong – American Mahjong; Callie's Mahjong by Techsalot LLC; calliesmahjong.com

Home games · American Mahjong app (iPhone, iPad, Mac) with same-room Wi-Fi play and Game Center online tables; NMJL cards; VoiceOver support Checked 2026-10-09

App download (iPhone, iPad and Mac via the App Store; single-player Android version on Google Play). Developer Techsalot LLC. Multiplayer runs device-to-device over local Wi-Fi or through Apple Game Center; no game servers or physical venue.

Official URL

Category: Home games · American Mahjong app (iPhone, iPad, Mac) with same-room Wi-Fi play and Game Center online tables; NMJL cards; VoiceOver support
Also called: Callie’s Mahjong – American Mahjong; Callie’s Mahjong by Techsalot LLC; calliesmahjong.com
Last checked: 2026-10-09

What it is

Callie’s Mahjong is an American Mahjong app for iPhone, iPad and Mac from Techsalot LLC. It runs a full four-player table with the official NMJL card, a real Charleston, jokers, exposures and card-based scoring. Up to four people can play together in the same room over local Wi-Fi (no internet or accounts needed) or from anywhere through Apple Game Center. AI opponents fill any empty seat, so two people can start a game. It has no ads, a free 72-hour trial, a one-time single-player unlock and a subscription for multiplayer. It is four-player table mahjong, not tile-matching solitaire.

Who it’s for

American Mah Jongg home groups on Apple devices who want to keep their weekly game going between meetings or while traveling. It also fits tables that meet in person but want the app to deal, pass and score, using the same-room Wi-Fi mode, which works without internet. Blind and low-vision players get full VoiceOver support with spoken play-by-play. Existing American home-game listings on disk include Mahjong 4 Friends, MahJongg4Fun, NMJL Online, Eight Bam, Four Winds, Playboard, PlayMahjong.io, Mahj Parlour, Mahjong Royale and Table Mahjong. None advertises a no-internet same-room mode or VoiceOver narration.

Why it’s listed

The plaza needs a home-game client that differs from recent picks: Thursday’s Riichi Advanced (open-source browser client), Wednesday’s BGA Riichi, Tuesday’s Mahjong.Live (Indian Heritage) and Monday’s Mahjong Place (Chinese styles). Callie’s is a native Apple app for American Mahjong that plays device-to-device (no developer game servers) with an accessibility-first design.

  • Official site (https://calliesmahjong.com/) returned 200 on 2026-10-09 under “Callie’s Mahjong – American Mahjong for iPhone, iPad & Mac.”
    • “A full 4-player table in your pocket.” Play solo against AI “or sit down with friends and family, in the same room or across the country. A real Charleston, the official NMJL card and no ads!”
    • In the same room: “Local Wi-Fi. No internet needed. Everyone on the same Wi-Fi network. One person hosts, everyone else taps to join. No accounts, no sign-in.”
    • Anywhere: “Online, through Game Center. Invite friends or find players. Works on Wi-Fi or cellular. Empty seats are filled by AI, so two can play.”
    • If a player drops, a computer player takes the seat and the game continues. The app makes everyone at a table use the same year’s NMJL card.
    • “Official NMJL Cards: Play with the built-in NMJL 2024, 2025 and 2026 scoring cards, or scan your own physical card.” 12 tile sets, 14 themes, including sets by independent artists (Winds and Wall Collective; Tales of Mahj).
    • Accessibility: “Full VoiceOver support with spoken play-by-play,” an Accessibility Mode with tap alternatives to every drag, larger text, higher contrast and Reduce Motion.
    • Pricing: free trial 72 hours, full access, no account. Single Player $12.99 once. Play With Friends $2.99/month or $19.99/year (includes the single-player game while subscribed). Family Sharing on both.
  • Terms (https://calliesmahjong.com/terms.html, effective October 1, 2026) returned 200: developer Techsalot LLC. Online play needs an active subscription or trial plus a Game Center account. “The Developer does not operate game servers for multiplayer play; game information travels directly between the devices.”
  • Privacy (https://calliesmahjong.com/privacy.html) returned 200: no third-party analytics, advertising or tracking SDKs. Apple versions send one anonymous daily usage summary, which can be turned off in Settings. Scanned NMJL cards stay on the device.
  • Android page (https://calliesmahjong.com/android.html) returned 200: the Android version is single-player only against AI, with TalkBack support, Android 7.0+, a three-day trial, then $2.99/month or $19.99/year. Playing with real people is Apple-only for now.
  • Support (https://calliesmahjong.com/support.html) returned 200: same-room play needs everyone on the same Wi-Fi network (guest networks with device isolation block it) and the Local Network permission. Game Center play needs everyone signed in, with an active subscription.
  • Apple App Store listing (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/callies-mahjong/id6781089384, linked from the official site) returned 200:
    • Free with in-app purchases. Seller Techsalot LLC. Category Board; age rating 4+; 136.8 MB; iPhone, iPad and Mac. Requires iOS 17.0 or later (App Store lookup).
    • Rating 4.9 (25 ratings) on the check date. First released July 9, 2026; current version 2026.42.2 (Oct 3, 2026), which added a seasonal Leaderboard (Season 1 from October 1) and a Harvest tile set.
    • “32 computer opponents, each with their own way of playing, including Callie, the toughest of them.” Three difficulty levels and a guided tutorial.

Not stated consistently: the official site lists built-in NMJL 2024, 2025 and 2026 cards and calls the subscription “Play With Friends,” while the App Store text says “2025 or 2026” and calls it “All Access” (which also includes the Leaderboard). Minimum Mac version and Android release history are not stated on the site. The site’s footer links to terms and privacy pages on calliesmahjong.app; this listing cites the .com copies. Confirm prices in the App Store before you buy.

Official URL

Official site: https://calliesmahjong.com/

Terms (developer, multiplayer model): https://calliesmahjong.com/terms.html

Privacy: https://calliesmahjong.com/privacy.html

Android version: https://calliesmahjong.com/android.html

iPhone / iPad / Mac (App Store): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/callies-mahjong/id6781089384

Location

App download only (App Store for iPhone, iPad and Mac; Google Play for single-player Android). Multiplayer is device-to-device over local Wi-Fi or Apple Game Center. No physical venue.

Notes

  • Four-player American Mahjong (NMJL card, Charleston, jokers), not solitaire. Don’t confuse it with Side games apps.
  • Two multiplayer modes: same-room Wi-Fi (no internet) and Game Center online. Both need a subscription after the trial; Android is single-player only.
  • No ads or third-party tracking, per the official privacy policy. Full VoiceOver support.
  • Not affiliated with the National Mah Jongg League or with Mahjong Plaza.

FAQ

Q: Can I play Callie’s Mahjong with my mahjong group?
A: Yes, on Apple devices. Up to four people can play together on the same Wi-Fi network (no internet or accounts needed) or online through Game Center. AI fills empty seats. Everyone at the table needs an active subscription or trial.

Q: How much does it cost?
A: Free to download with a 72-hour full trial. On 2026-10-09 single player was a $12.99 one-time purchase, and playing with other people was $2.99/month or $19.99/year. Family Sharing applies to both.

Q: Which NMJL card does it use?
A: It has built-in NMJL scoring cards (the site lists 2024, 2025 and 2026; the App Store text lists 2025 and 2026), and you can scan your own physical card. All players at a table must use the same year.

Q: Is it on Android?
A: Yes, but the Android version is single-player only (subscription after a three-day trial). Multiplayer is on iPhone, iPad and Mac.

Q: Is it accessible for blind players?
A: The site advertises full VoiceOver support with spoken play-by-play of every discard and call, and an Accessibility Mode with tap alternatives to dragging. Android has TalkBack support.